BackPacks
25 posts
16 users
7k+ views
SkiTrucker
January 21, 2007
Member since 01/18/2007 🔗
5 posts
Hi, Newbie here. Live in Clarksburg, Wv and ski all the local areas. Was wanting to know how many use backpacks while sking. I'm looking at the Heli-Pro large. This bag will be used for extra gloves and food, water and such things for family. Thanks
Scott - DCSki Editor
January 21, 2007
Member since 10/10/1999 🔗
1,249 posts
I ski with a backpack more often than not. It is very convenient for hauling some gear, and I also frequently ski with a camera, so it's indispensable for that. I don't let the backpack get too heavy, though.

The only tricky thing is lifts -- I just slip off the backpack as I get to the front of the lift line and hold it in front of me with one arm while on the lift. I don't feel comfortable in the middle of the chairlift when I'm holding my backpack -- I like to sit on the end and hold the side of the chair with one arm.

Also, this is probably obvious but you want to be careful in case you fall and land on your backpack -- you don't want to land on any sharp objects. If I have something like a small camera, I wrap it in a towel to protect it and me a bit. If I have a full-size camera with lenses, I ski very, very carefully!

Here's a picture of me with backpack last winter at Vail:

I think it's good to have a brightly-colored backpack as it helps increase visibility.
SkiTrucker
January 21, 2007
Member since 01/18/2007 🔗
5 posts
Thanks Scott, The Pack is only 5 inches thick so hopefully I can leave it on. I was plainning on leaning across the bar with by arms when on the lift. I see alot of skings and snow boarders using them at Snowshoe
kennedy
January 22, 2007
Member since 12/8/2001 🔗
792 posts