Davis, WV Real Estate
17 posts
10 users
4k+ views
ckosowski
February 3, 2016
Member since 01/28/2016 🔗
3 posts

This is my first time posting.  I have been following the Forums on and off for several years.  Here goes... My husband and I are considering the purchase of a home in Canaan Valley/Davis.  We have 3 kids under 6.  The older 2 love skiing and the youngest hasn't started.  We love cross country skiing, biking, and hiking also.  We would like the home so that we can ski on the weekends without having to deal with the hastle of packing every weekend to go to Whitetail, Liberty, etc.  In addition, we would like a place that has other activities than skiing and the CV area seems to offer that.

I am trying to gain some insight on owning a home in Canaan Valley.  What is the real estate market like?  It appears that there is quite a bit for sale, but not much is moving.  We know we would probably not make much money off the house (if any), but how hard is it to sell out there?  

We have skiied there a few times and like both mountains.  Any thoughts on future development of Canaan Valley or Timberline?  

Thank you for your time.  I appreciate any insight you might have.

Norsk
February 3, 2016
Member since 05/13/2003 🔗
317 posts

There's lots of informed points of view on CV real estate here.  I will start off with just a few thoughts:

We have owned at Tline for almost 10 years.  Love having a place, love not having to schlep gear back and forth, love the four seasons aspect.  

You have to buy with funds that you are sure you won't need anytime soon.  Resale market is thin and slow moving from what I know.  So far the hoped-for explosion in demand from the completion of Corridor H has not happened.  Maybe it will in coming years, maybe not.