22 posts
8 users
2k+ views
portern91
February 9, 2016
Member since 02/8/2016 🔗
8 posts

Hey all,

I was looking for some advice regarding a trip to WV I'm taking this weekend. I recently moved to DC after living in Florida my whole life, so I am not very accustomed to driving in snow, mountains, etc. Months ago, my girlfriend and I rented a cabin in West Virginia for this upcoming Presidents' Day weekend. I've been going out west to snowboard my whole life, so exploring the east coast has been my priority. 

Anyways, I drive a Honda Civic, which I bought chains for this past week.  We want to leave early to minimize/eliminate night driving on Friday to get to our cabin which is right outside Elkins, West Virginia.  I'm looking for advice on the best route to take to arrive safely.  I have little experience in the snow, and quite frankly it freaks me out a bit, especially with all the snow this week.  We we're thinking about renting a 4WD SUV, but the lady who we are renting the cabin from thinks that is unnecessary.  What are everyone's thoughts? 

We were planning on hitting up Snowshoe or Canaan (whichever is easier to get to).  Any and all advice from some more experienced winter driving enthusiasts would be much appreciated.  Thanks!

An

Bonzski
February 9, 2016
Member since 10/21/2015 🔗
652 posts

Front wheel drive w/ chains will get you around.  I live in WV and drive through Elkins whether I'm going to CV or Snowshoe.  CV is a little closer to Elkins by distance but the roads are a little tougher due to the several mountain ascents/descents.  Elkins to SS (Rt 219 South) is ~1.25hr; follows a valley so its very flat but the last 7 miles where you cross a couple ridges (not mountains) then the 5 mile road up to SS.  All this is well maintained.