23 posts
9 users
2k+ views
JimK - DCSki Columnist
June 8, 2018 (edited June 8, 2018)
Member since 01/14/2004 🔗
2,964 posts

Congratulations CAPS!

Nice to see our winter sports brethren climb to the top of the NHL mountain.  I've been a Wash DC area resident since long before the Caps founding in 1974, but I have to confess that I've always been a fair weather Caps fan.  So what?  This is the fairest weather this franchise has ever seen and we all get to enjoy it :-)

After this post season I'm now a believer in that cliché about the Stanley Cup being the hardest championship to win. The NHL playoffs are so looong when you go all the way.  It’s been almost two full months since the playoffs began with that first game loss against Columbus on Apr 12.  We trailed in every playoff series and we clinched every one away from home.  It was very cool to see this team gain confidence after each series and see a gray haired Ovi  mature into a spirited team leader. We had a magical convergence of team chemistry, not the least of which was a huge contribution from supporting players.

superguy
Member since 03/8/2018 🔗
518 posts

Aww, Ovenchicken finally got his Cup.  Good for him! :)

Go Pens! :D

Denis - DCSki Supporter 
June 8, 2018
Member since 07/12/2004 🔗
2,337 posts

Very happy for the Caps and their fans.  It was mentioned during the game that it was the 40th anniversary of the Bullets (now Wizards) winning their only NBA title.  The Caps have a resemblance to that team.  Both were veteran squads widely regarded as having little chance because they were past their prime years.  Now, they have climbed the mountain.  Enjoy!

SCWVA
Member since 07/13/2004 🔗
1,052 posts

superguy wrote:

I guess the Crying Crosby fans are still upset about getting their butts kicked by the CAPS!  :) 

Damn, feels good to be able to finally talk a little trash after all these years of the CAPS getting their butts kicked by the flightless birds!

C-A-P-S....CAPS, CAPS, CAPS! 

#ALLCAPS