27 posts
9 users
3k+ views
chalnikal
November 28, 2018
Member since 11/28/2018 🔗
9 posts

Hello everyone,

I am new to this forum and would like some help regarding going to a ski destination in January. My dates are January 24th-28th. We are a family of four, two adults and two boys, ages 11 and 15. My husband and kids are advanced skiers. On the other hand I am still learning to get down the hill on a beginner slope :)

We live in the Washington DC area. We have skied White Tail, Snowshoe, and Holiday Valley. This January we would like to try something different. We are thinking of going to Colorado. Do you have any recommendations of where the skiing is great? I do not know what the snow conditions will be everywhere. I am thinking of choosing between Vail and Beaver Creek. My husband and kids love long and steep runs. I am sure wherever we go we will have a great time. I thought I'd ask since I do not have much experience with this.

The only other date that would work for us is Presidents day weekend. My son is a sophomore in high school and he cannot take much time off. 

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks a million,

Shazia

superguy
November 28, 2018 (edited November 28, 2018)
Member since 03/8/2018 🔗
518 posts

First question - do you like the big resort type or the "off the beaten" path type of place?

I'd suggest taking a good look at Utah. You go from downtown to most resorts in under an hour. You can stay either slope side or down in Salt Lake - so there are plenty of lodging options to fit any budget.  You can take an early morning flight and be on the slopes around lunch time. Depending on what type of pass you have or if you're buying daily tickets, you can easily focus on one or two resorts, or try multiple ones pretty easily. Whether you want the big resort or more down-home area, you're covered.