10 posts
7 users
1k+ views
CoolBreeze303
June 18, 2020
Member since 05/23/2020 🔗
6 posts

Hello all,

Currently I'm looking into getting a backpack to wear while I'm skiing. It'll be primarily for storage like extra goggle lens, snacks or anything else one would need to avoid going back to the resort for overpriced refreshments. I'm a novice that only uses groomers for now.

Any input the community can offer would be greatly appreciated.

JimK - DCSki Columnist
June 18, 2020 (edited June 18, 2020)
Member since 01/14/2004 🔗
2,964 posts

I use a backpack about 25% of the time when I'm skiing out west at large resorts because some times you can be several lift rides and 30-60 minutes from a lodge, or even further from your car/hotel.  Having extra stuff at close hand such as snack, extra layer, gaiter, gloves, water, goggle lens, etc. can be very helpful in that scenario. 

Back in the mid-Atlantic I rarely use a backpack because you're usually within 5-10 mins of the base lodge or your car/hotel and you can just go to the lodge, your bootbag, or car and get what you need.