Bumps at Massanutten?
8 posts
5 users
1k+ views
LiquidFeet
2 months ago
Member since 02/19/2023 🔗
1 posts

I'm a new resident in the southeast.  I can get to Massanutten pretty easily and am wondering if it maintains a bump run of any kind through the season.  If yes, does anyone have any stories about how the conditions vary through the season?

I am used to New England bumps.   

wgo
2 months ago (edited 2 months ago)
Member since 02/10/2004 🔗
1,666 posts

Massanutten generally has a bump run. In years past Upper Mak Attack would have bumps. These were usually oddly shaped and irregularly sized but still fun. This year Mak Attack has been groomed most of the season but the new No Hessitation run was allowed to bump up. Note though that these bumps were recently groomed as well, but I think the plan is to allow them to grow again.

In addition, Mnut will sometimes have a second bump run with more regularly formed bumps. I guess these are seeded? These have been on Paradice in past seasons but are on Showtime this season. This does not happen every season.

In general Mnut is worth checking out. It is not New England obviously but they have added several runs recently and do a good job getting things open. This region has a solid core of dedicated skiers and several ski areas you may want to check out.

marzNC - DCSki Supporter 
2 months ago
Member since 12/10/2008 🔗
3,246 posts

What I've found with Massanutten bumps is while they are okay for learning absorption and extension, the bump sections are too short to really improve bump technique unless someone is very committed to just repeating them.  I started to learn what to do to simply "flow" down bumps working with Walter.  With the seeded bumps on Showtime, that means riding the Ridge triple instead of the Peak express lift.

I consider it a good season if there are bumps at Mnut for 3-4 weeks.  Usually happens by February, but can happen a bit earlier when Mother Nature cooperates for snowmaking.