Jacket Suggestions?
6 posts
4 users
1k+ views
(Anonymous)
December 25, 2002

Hey folks!

I've been skiing for a year and I'm finally breaking down and buying a good ski jacket.

I'm still a beginner/intermediate, so if you have any suggestions, I'd appreciate it.
I'll be heading up to Hunter Mountain this wknd. and mainly sticking to Roundtop/White Tail/Liberty.

Any brands that you recommend?

-Stabone

(Anonymous)
December 26, 2002
I have found that the lighter weight jackets offered widely with a real strong and water resistant outside layer are quite versatile for skiing in our area. You can wear an extra fleece vest or wool sweater underneath for colder days. Buying one really big, super warm jacket just seems to be overkill for the typical daytime temps around local ski hills between 35-55 degrees. The lighter weight ski jackets sell for approx 50-100 at places like sports authority, to 100-300 at better, more fashionable ski stores like ski chalet, sort of depends on your budget and fashion requirements. It is nice to get a matching pair of water resistant ski pants. those run about 40-200, again depending on where you like to shop. Galyans may have stuff sort of in between the two price ranges mentioned above.
snowcone
December 26, 2002
Member since 09/27/2002 🔗
589 posts
The trick here is -waterproof- or a really good water-resistant brand such as Spyder. If you are a beginner/lower intermediate you are going to be spending a goodly portion of you experience on your bottom. I know, been there, done that. Being wet can seriously ruin your fun and cut short your skiing day.

My suggestion is to splurge on a one of the new jackets that allow you to add/subtract liners depending on the weather. You are not going to be buying a new jacket every year and $200-300 (on sale even less) amortized over 3 years or so, is a small price to pay to be dry and warm.