What is wrong with ski lessons?
8 posts
5 users
2k+ views
Otto
February 2, 2000
Member since 11/19/1999 🔗
176 posts
As an instructor I have my own preconceived notions about what is good and bad about lessons in general and what goes into making a bad ski lesson.

I would like to hear from others what they have liked and not liked about lessons. Other than cost, what is wrong with lessons and why don't you take them or take them more often? What seems to be the most common or most fundamental problem?

Thanks

(Anonymous)
February 3, 2000
I took several lessons at Liberty last year and was most annoyed because the lessons sometimes started as much as 20 minutes after the official time scheduled. We'd be there promptly at the official start time, then eventually someone would come round and check who we were, what we wanted, etc, and the requisite instructors seemingly had to be rounded up.

I understand that the alternative (have a fixed # of instructors waiting with a fixed number of open spots) means people could get bounced, but I find it annoying nonetheless.

Besides starting at the advertised time, some other things could be done to save time. For example, all but the beginner classes could meet at the top of the runs, saving not only the time it takes to get to the top (or backside in Liberty's case which is pretty long) but making it less likely someone is going to get in the wrong class. It seems pretty silly because every class I've taken has the instructor start out by asking everyone if it's ok that we go up such and such a lift and ski on the backside or whatever. And there are often people that waste more time by asking the instructor inane questions ("gosh, I've never been there; is that too steep?", etc, etc)

I generally found my classes consisted of just 2 or 3 runs, what with the wasted time at the beginning and the time to go whereever we needed to go on the mountain.